Current Thoughts on Several Things, Including Gaming Mods [Spoilers]

Ok, not a great title, but I guess it works.

Current thoughts on Heritage Home Part 1: This is a great mod. It’s well put together, the puzzles are challenging, and it’s HUGE. Seriously, I think I might be halfway done and I’m sure I’ve spent 5 or 6 hours on it so far. I’ve had to ask for hints, and the author/creator has been exceedingly nice about giving hints that are actual hints without giving anything away. Usually I just haven’t searched whatever area I’m stuck on thoroughly enough. This is pretty common for me; I get so caught up in the story that I get impatient with puzzles. The cavern is AMAZING. I totally didn’t expect such a huge open space. That’s where I’m currently stuck. I do like the hints in notes, and the extra notes that add flavor are a really nice touch. Oh, and I’m pretty sure that the creator, who goes by RafftheSweetling, added atmospheric music, which is a subtle way to set the tone that seems like it would get overlooked most of the time. Overall, I’m very impressed with this mod and I’m determined to figure out how to get that door open! I could use console commands, but if I do that, I might as well just uninstall the whole thing, because it’s obvious Raff put a lot of time and effort into the puzzles, so bypassing them like that just feels wrong to me.

Current thoughts on A Note Easily Missed: This has a lot of potential to be very interesting. Unfortunately, though, I don’t think I’ll be able to finish it. There’s a map texture missing, and that has the information for the next location to go. Other people have had this same problem, and the creator isn’t modding in Fallout 3 anymore. I messaged the creator anyway, so we’ll see what happens. Very frustrating; I liked what I was able to play.

Current thoughts on Old World Secrets: I finished it, yay! It was very interesting, and I liked the fact that the characters were morally ambiguous and not particularly likable, as it made the story more than just “I like this person so I want to help him or her out”. I found it rather amusing that the texture for the rocket had some issues, so I ended up seeing what looked like a giant spiderweb hanging on an invisible cylinder, but I have a weird sense of humor. Some of the dialog was stiff, but I think the creator said it was his first mod. Gotta start somewhere.

Current thoughts on Project Genesis: When I’m not beating my head against a wall in Heritage Home, I’ve been working on this one. Right now I’m trying to find the fuse (I think?) in the Gene-Tec lobby. I’ve looked at everything I can think of and come up with nothing so far. I’ll keep trying, but it’s frustrating that the creator put quest markers for other things, but not for a small object of uncertain appearance in a large, dim area.

Other mods installed that I haven’t worked on yet: Daisy’s Revenge, In the Shadow of the Swamp, Survivalist Bunker, An Evening With Mister Manchester. I plan to install To Sleep – Perchance To Dream after I finish Manchester.

Current project: Repainting B’s original Captain America shield. B is 6 and is very active, so his shield was looking very worn. I decided to repaint it with metallic paint (Rustoleum brand, in spray cans) and then seal it with Gorilla Tape. So far, I’ve gotten two coats of the red sprayed on, and I need to sand off the parts where the masking tape buckled and paint seeped onto the white. I may be lazy and skip the sanding for now so I can take advantage of the warmish, dryish day to get the blue sprayed on. I got better masking tape (or at least, I hope it’s better, it was definitely more expensive), so hopefully it won’t buckle like the cheap stuff did. I also need to retape for the red and figure out how to get the edges painted without dripping or sticking to the newspaper. I might try using a plastic dropcloth for that.

Future projects being considered: 1. Mentats container. I have an aluminum box that’s roughly the right shape and size. That should be pretty easy; all I need is a label and to age the container.

2. Fallout 3 weapon prop. Not sure which one, but I’ve got a bunch of Instructables I’m looking at. Or I might design my own. YOU NEVER KNOW.

3. Working PipBoy. More Instructables being perused. This would be so much easier if I had a 3D printer, but in the meantime, I might try something with craft foam. I have managed to plant the idea of a 3D printer in M’s head, so we’ll see what comes out of that.

Leave a Reply

