Progress! And pictures! Now with added non-Fallout content!

Good afternoon, Wastelanders! I am using my spiffy computer table in comfort today! It’s actually an over-bed table, similar to the ones they have in the hospital, and when I got it, I thought it would be great to use as a computer table because it would mostly fit under the couch. Unfortunately, our couch is about an inch too low to accommodate the base, but I had A PLAN. Today that plan finally got put into action: Ben helped me put the 2x4s, cut to the right length, under the couch legs, and it works beautifully! This also means that Mar won’t stub his toes on the base so often, which is definitely a selling point.

An update on An Evening With Mister Manchester: I got the textures to work!! I was getting very frustrated, because without those textures, I couldn’t move on in the mod, so I finally just uninstalled all my other mods. It worked, as I hoped it would. I might experiment to find out which mod was causing the conflict, and I’ll probably let the author of whatever mod it is know about it, as well as posting in the thread on Manchester. There’s just so many good mods out there that I tend to go overboard wanting to try everything that sounds interesting, but I may have to just do two or three at a time, then swap those out when I finish the story in each one.

Current project progress:

An original Captain America shield in the middle stages of being repainted.

I got the red paint taped, and I’m slowly working on getting the excess red paint off. I taped the part I want to keep because it’s really tricky trying to use sandpaper in an arc without accidentally sanding the good parts. I think this part is going to be one of the slowest, because some of the paint is on the surface, but some of it seems to have dyed the plastic. I’m thinking of maybe adding some plastic filler when I’m done and then painting it, but that might just be more trouble than it’s worth. Alternately, I might just paint the white part after I at least get the lumpier bits of red paint taken off.

Finished project:

Iron Man's helmet as a mask

I just wanted to show off something I actually finished. I just used a gold Sharpie to fix the paint that was scratched off, because Ben is 6 and not very careful with his stuff. But the parts I fixed looked better than the original, so I ended up coloring over all the gold paint. I think it looks pretty good: battle scarred but not beaten. I want to get a silver Sharpie and redo the silver bits on the side (they’re not visible in this picture), because they weren’t particularly well-painted to begin with. Still, I have no problem with Ben wearing this in public, so I count that as a win.

Other random geekery: I finally got my haircolor to where I want it, yay!

Vampire Red hair

That’s Manic Panic’s Vampire Red. I thought it would be darker this time, since I left it on overnight, but it is darker than it was on previous application, when I just left it on for a couple of hours. I may have to accept the sad fact that my hair is just not as absorbent of color as it used to be, or at least not as absorbent of reds. I’d get a shot in the sunlight, but a. it’s cloudy out, although the temperature is AWESOME, and b. I’m lazy. (Side note, that thing by my mouth is a scab; I have a terrible habit of picking at things, and that’s the result. I did not get clocked in the mouth.)

I love these lazy weekends, when everyone stays in their jammies and just hangs out, reading or playing games or watching videos or whatever. Ben’s working on Lego Marvel Superheroes. Well, I say “working on”, but he’s really just running around Marvel’s New York and messing around with stuff; he’s thrilled that the characters can ride the subway. It should be entertaining to see his reaction when he actually rides the New York subway this summer. Oh, and I must mention the weather: It’s SEVENTY-TWO DEGREES. I have the windows partially open, and I’m wearing SHORTS. This is perfect weather.

Random thing I’m happy about: I got my swimsuit! I had ordered it online, which made me a little nervous, but the website had really good fitting information, so I decided to give it a shot. After all, if it didn’t fit, I could return or exchange it. I finally got it on Thursday, and it fits wonderfully! Another plus is that it’s a tankini, so I don’t have to take the whole thing off when I go to the bathroom, but the best part is that it looks like a tank top and skirt/shorts combo! It’s really cute, and really comfortable, and it looks like something I would wear as an actual outfit. Added bonus: it’s navy blue with purple trim, so when my haircolor bleeds getting out of the water, I don’t have to worry about it staining the suit.

Mar said that this blog was really Fallout-centric, so I’m trying to include more non-Fallout stuff. Speaking of which, has anyone played at Roll20.net? I signed up, but I’ve yet to actually join any campaigns. I think that’s my social anxiety trying to take over my brain, though, because I just keep thinking, “What if the people I end up playing with are jerks, or mean, or [insert list of negative social traits]?” and my logical brain has only just piped up to remind me that I can close the window and never speak to any of them ever again if they’re any of those terrible things. So now I guess I just need to figure out what rulebooks I have and take the plunge. (Most of the rulebooks I have are pdf’s, thus the trying to figure out what I have.) I’d like to have a tablet for the pdf’s, but I suppose that’s not a deal-breaker. If anyone has any experience with the site, though, I’d love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

